This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
CVH Network Leadership Team

The CVH Network Leadership Team represents YOU to NACDD and the CDC Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention.


"On behalf of the CVH Network Leadership Team, I encourage everyone working on HDSP or Category B strategies on the 1815 and 1817 grants to vote for your representatives on the 2019 Leadership Team. This election is an important process for health departments to participate in to elect colleagues who will speak for their needs, interests, and ideas. This year's election ballot includes candidates from Florida to Hawaii with a range of professional experiences and perspectives. "

Vote informed:




What is the CVH Network Leadership Team?

The Leadership Team is a critical resource to NACDD and CDC. Leadership Team members have been elected by their peers to represent the strengths, concerns, and interests of health departments to NACDD and CDC’s Division of Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention staff and Million Hearts® team. The Leadership Team provides extensive input and feedback to NACDD on learning opportunities, Off the Cuff, and 1815/1817 technical assistance related to HDSP strategies. 

Members of the Leadership Team contribute the following:

  • Represent state health departments to NACDD, CDC, and other partners;
  • Facilitate peer connections among staff working on cardiovascular disease interventions;
  • Set the priorities and best methods for providing support to all state health departments, such as recommending topics for webinars and Fireside Chats and helping to determine the most suitable means to disseminate information; and
  • Coordinate and integrate activities with other NACDD councils and committees.

How are Leadership Team members elected?

A call for nominations is issued in Off the Cuff in November of each year that includes a list of available positions. All CVH Network members are encouraged to nominate staff they would like to see serve as 1815/1817 ambassadors for state health departments. After the nominations period closes, nominees are asked to confirm their interest and submit information for the election ballot. An election is announced through Off the Cuff and nominees are selected based on vote tallies. Please contact MaryCatherine Jones ( if you have questions about the positions or process.

2018 Members

Chair: Tara Trujillo (CO)

At Large Members:

  • Rachael Austin (NY)
  • Kristina Dawkins (MI)
  • Cheryl Farmer (WA)
  • Desiree Jonas (FL)

Epidemiology and Evaluation Collaborative Leads: Brittany Brown (UT), Liz Gebhart (NE), Paul Meddaugh (VT)

Government Affairs Liaison: Crystelle Fogle (MT)

Learning and Professional Development Committee Liaison: Patrick Wiggins (VA)

Health Equity Council Liaison: Cheryl Farmer (WA)

Diabetes Council Liaison: Sara Eve Sarliker (WA)

WISEWOMAN Council Liaison: Robin Roberts (MI)


How Can I Provide Feedback or Suggestions to the Leadership Team?

States are encouraged to reach out to Leadership Team members throughout the year to convey ideas, ask questions, and share feedback. The Chair and Chair Elect are always appropriate to contact and are well positioned to understand your needs and represent them to the group and to NACDD. You may also reach out directly to the NACDD consultant, MaryCatherine Jones ( if you have suggestions about the Leadership Team and how we can improve opportunities for states to collaborate, exchange best practices, and share tools and resources. We would love to hear from you!

National Association of Chronic Disease Directors
325 Swanton Way
Decatur, GA 30030
Hours of Operation: Mon. - Fri., 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.